Celebrating Two Weeks With… Chips and Pie?

Today marked two weeks since I started my Whole30, and it was notable for several reasons. Around the two-week mark is when most people doing a Whole30 start to feel the negative side effects subside, and when I woke up this morning I felt more refreshed than I have in a long time. Despite having difficulty falling asleep last night (thanks to a late afternoon coffee), the second my alarm went off at 6:45, I was alert and ready to start my day.

An even more fascinating phenomenon that occurred, and another that is common around this time for Whole30ers, is I had my first dream about off-limit foods! If I weren’t doing the Whole30 it would have been inconsequential. I dreamed I was eating Fritos and dunking them in assorted dips. It’s bizarre because I can’t even tell you the last time I ate Fritos (why choose Fritos over Cheetos?) and because my friend Taylor told me a few days ago that when she did her first Whole30 she dreamed about DORITOS, which she rarely eats! Anyhoo, I viewed this dream as a rite of passage, and I hope tonight brings something sickeningly sweet to my dream tummy.

My tummy IRL is happy because I made pie tonight… shepherd’s pie, that is. The recipe comes straight from the Whole30 book, but I’m going to repost it here. I can’t say I’ve eaten a lot of shepherd’s pie in my life, but I was drawn to this recipe because it’s a one-pot meal and because I haven’t yet used ground beef as my protein source on the Whole30.

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and large-diced
  • 4 cups cold water
  • 4 tablespoons clarified butter or ghee (the ghee I used has coconut oil in it)
  • ½ cup coconut milk
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, finely chopped
  • 1 carrot, peeled and finely chopped (I plan to use two next time to double the vegetable count)
  • 1 pound ground meat (I used beef)
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon dried thyme (or use a sprig of fresh thyme, but I didn’t)
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano (or use 2 teaspoons fresh oregano, but ditto)

 

Ok, I decided I’m not going to post the recipe because it’s a lot to type, and my “L” and period keys are broken. That being said, if you want the recipe or want to fix my broken keys, just comment below or send me a message.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment