Spaghetti Squash Crusted Pizza

All hail the almighty spaghetti squash! Despite the fact that I needed a muscular man to help me slice open the massive fruit I picked out this time, I’m obsessed. And this recipe only added fuel to the fire of my obsession.

Other than the squash, you probably already have everything you need to make spaghetti squash pizza crust, which is GREAT. You’ll also need to gather your pizza toppings; I used Prego tomato sauce, a pizza cheese blend and chicken breast strips for protein.

Look how pretty it is!FullSizeRender

I’m not going to post the entire recipe here because I think you all know how to click on a hyperlink, but I will offer a few tips/warnings.

  1. For me, two cups of squash made a crust that was roughly nine inches in diameter. If you want a foot-long (or foot-round) like the recipe claims to make, I recommend using more spaghettified squash.
  2. Do NOT forget to spray whatever material will be touching the crust. I used foil but failed to spray and ended up having to scrape each bite from the aluminum. It was still delicious!
  3. The aforementioned muscley man remembered to spray but still could not eat his pizza without a fork. I think the fall apart nature of the crust might have something to do with not straining the squash enough before combining it with the other ingredients. Make sure you get as much squash liquid out as possible.

IMG_1061

IMG_1060.JPG

Want to know a secret? This slice of pizza has a layer of aluminum foil stuck to the bottom of it.

Leave a comment